Boundary Changes: Last Chance to Have Your Say

The parliamentary map of East London is set to be re-drawn

Constituents will have until 11 December 2017 to comment on government plans to revise the constituency boundaries for parliamentary seats in East London and across the nation.

Current proposals, recommended as a way of lowering the running costs of Parliament, entail reducing the number of MPs from 650 to 600. If implemented, they would mean the constituency of West Ham disappearing altogether and East Ham being carved up.

The seat of East Ham, currently held by Stephen Timms MP, would consist of the following wards, all within the borough of Newham: East Ham Central, South and North; Boleyn, Green Street East and West; Little Ilford, Manor Park, and Wall End.

The West Ham seat, currently held by Lyn Brown MP, would be abolished. Its wards would be merged with six wards from the borough of Tower Hamlets to form the constituency of Poplar and Canning Town.

Meanwhile Forest Gate North and South, along with Stratford and New Town, would join with five wards from the borough of Waltham Forest to create the parliamentary seat of Leyton and Stratford. Whilst Beckton and the Royal Docks would join nine Barking and Dagenham wards to become Barking and Beckton.

Across the country it will become a legal requirement that each constituency contains roughly the same number of voters.

Are you happy with the re-drawing of the parliamentary map, or would you prefer it to remain unchanged? Have your say by visiting before 11 December 2017.